Nimbus Sport bags contract from Sri Lanka Cricket

Nimbus Sport International Pvt. Ltd, the Singapore-headquartered global sports management company has won the commercial rights for the India-Sri Lanka five-match one-day series and the one-off T20I game to be played in Sri Lanka.


Stay tuned to for LIVE WEBCAST of the five ODIs and the Twenty20 between India and Sri Lanka starting on Jan 28
Nimbus Sport International Pvt. Ltd is an entity related to

Nimbus Sport will exclusively market all commercial rights to the forthcoming series, commencing on 28 January.

Nimbus Sport will also be producing the television coverage for the series which will be broadcast worldwide.

  • Fixtures | Recap: ’08 series
  • Squad | India | Sri Lanka
  • Tamil Nadu Lawyers demand cancellation of SL tour
  • Only Sachin is an automatic selection: Ganguly
  • Jadeja, PK named in Indian squad for SL tour
  • Srinath praise for Jadeja, Praveen

Yannick Colaco, Executive Vice President, Nimbus Sport said, “We love working in Sri Lanka and hope that this partnership marks the beginning of a long and fruitful relationship with Sri Lanka Cricket. As a sports marketing and production company, it has always been our aim to provide quality sports and cricketing action to the sub-continent and to the cricket fan worldwide.”

Duleep Mendis, CEO, Sri Lanka Cricket added, “We were impressed with the state of readiness of Nimbus Sport and the qualitative and commercial offering that they brought to the table. Nimbus Sport shares our passion for the growth of the game of cricket and having worked closely with all Asian cricket boards, we are confident about partnering with them.”

The Indian selectors have largely stuck to the same team that won 5-0 against England in November 2008. Irfan Pathan, whose selection ahead of RP Singh had caused a controversy during the England series, retains his place. Praveen Kumar’s inclusion bolsters the pace attack, which also includes Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma and Munaf Patel.

With Harbhajan injured, left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha keeps his place. All-rounder Ravinder Jadeja is the only fresh face in the team.

BCCI joint secretary Sanjay Jagdale on Sunday announced the 15-member squad which has seven specialist batsmen in captain M S Dhoni, vice captain Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma and Suresh Raina

  • Relive- 2008 tour (India in Sri Lanka 2008)
  • Batting averages
  • Bowling averages

“The Indian team will assemble in Chennai on January 25 and practice under lights at the M A Chidambaram Stadium. They would then depart for Sri Lanka the next day,” Jagdale said.

Dambulla is scheduled to host the first two India-Sri Lanka ODIs on January 28 and 30, followed by three one dayers in Colombo on February 2, 5 and 8.

The only Twenty20 match will take place in Colombo on February 10.

Similar Posts